Notice: Function _register_theme_block_patterns was called incorrectly. Could not register file "/home/michaelb/" as a block pattern ("Slug" field missing) Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 6.0.0.) in /home/michaelb/ on line 5835
GED North Dakota | Your Guide To Obtaining Your GED in North Dakota

North Dakota GED FAQ

A North Dakota GED (General Educational Development) diploma is your passport to the career you have always dreamed of. If you are ready to take the next step and get your GED diploma, continue reading this guide for information about the North Dakota GED exam.

North Dakota GED Test Format

The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction oversees the GED testing and awarding of diplomas in the state. The test itself, however, follows the format set by the American Council on Education. There are a total of five tests, each focusing on a specific subject taught in high school: language arts reading, language arts writing, math, science, and social studies.

The exam is timed, and you will have about 45 to 90 minutes to complete each section. In total, there are 240 questions plus one essay question. You are allowed to use a calculator for the first part of the mathematics test. If English is not your first language, you can take the test in Spanish or French. Those needing special accommodations for disabilities must contact the testing center prior to taking the exam.

Passing the North Dakota GED Test

It is a well-known fact that the North Dakota GED exam is very challenging. To pass, you must score at least 2250 or higher. In addition to that, all tests must score over 410. Tests with scores that fall below 410 must be retaken.

Although the state doesn’t limit the number of times you can retake all or parts of the GED exam, you can only take the test as many times as there are alternative versions. For example, if there are only two alternate versions of the exam, you can only take the test two more times that year. Additionally, there is a 15-day waiting period between retakes. Only the highest scores on the individual tests will be used to calculate your cumulative exam score.

North Dakota GED Eligibility Requirements

People who want to take the North Dakota GED exam must be at least 18 years old and have not graduated from high school. Sixteen and seventeen year olds must obtain waiver before they will be allowed to sit for the test. More information about eligibility requirements can be found on the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction website or at your local GED testing center.

People who have already earned a high school diploma or equivalent and those still enrolled in a K-12 school program are not eligible to take the GED exam.

GED Registration Information

North Dakota has over 20 official testing facilities in the state. You can obtain a list of these centers from the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction website ( To take the test, you must first register at one of the testing sites. You will need to bring identification showing your age and all relevant documentation.

Testing fees vary, but you can expect to pay a maximum of $150 to take all five exams and up to $30 per exam for retesting.

Preparing for the Exam

North Dakota residents are lucky. The adult education centers in the state offer free GED preparatory classes that provide an in-depth review of the material that will be on the test. To find the location nearest you, visit the North Dakota Department of Public Instruction website.

If you are not able to fit a classroom education into your schedule, there are many resources that will help you study on your own. You can sign up for an online or distance learning GED prep course. Another option is to purchase GED study guides and practices test to review in your own time. No matter what you choose to do, give yourself the best chance of passing the test by taking time to study.